about.me/you

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 5.58.11 PM.png

By now, maybe you’ve had a chance to check out the new about.me. If not, you can set up a new page at about.me. If you have a page, you can update your page on the new platform by going to about.me/update.

A little history. We founded about.me in 2013 to offer everyone more control over how they represent themselves online. At that time, everyone was talking about social media – whether it was Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn. These services provide incredibly important functions in our lives (and for the record, are personally three of my favorite services), but one of the things that really frustrated us was the lack of unity as to how they treated and displayed identity.

We believe that representation with a minimum of other obligations required (friend requests, constant content creation, work networking requests, etc.) is the basic foundation of a personal page on the web. In the past few years, we got away from our unique brand of simplicity, adding lots of “engagement” features, as we chased metrics. While we generated millions and millions of compliments & collections, we cannot honestly say that either of those features created enough meaningful value for our users.

In addition, the world has changed. A lot.

  1. First impressions now happen at scale online and increasingly on mobile devices;
  2. The workforce is shifting from full-time employees to independent, “part-time” contractors, also known as 1099 contractors (1 in 3 of all professionals in the Bay Area & New York are 1099’ers, 40% of all professionals nationwide will be 1099’ers in the next 4 years); and
  3. The next generation desires to turn their hobbies into businesses, 76% of college students today think they’ll turn their hobby into a source of income.

These trends underscore how everyone will increasingly need a personal page with a purpose. It’s even more important for people working for themselves and anyone who has a passion based side project. As a result, we’ve reimagined about.me and we’re betting the company on this thesis.

The new about.me personal page combines simplicity (beautiful pages, easy to make, easy to understand, easy to use) with a new feature called “Spotlight” that creates tangible value by  enabling  to communicate that in a clear, effective way.

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 5.51.08 PM.png

We’ve done extensive user testing and research around personal page creation to make it drop dead simple for everyone to make an about.me page in less than 2 minutes from any device . Once you make your about.me personal page, we give you a set of tools so you can easily add a link to your Email Signature, Social Profiles; or use as a Digital Business Card.

We love the results: users are showcasing a specific Spotlight on their page to get jobs or consulting gigs; drive people to their website, blog, articles or social media pages; sell their products; support their charities; download their apps/ videos/ music; support their college application; get speaking gigs; support their Kickstarter crowd funding campaign; sign up people to their newsletters, etc.  Here are a few examples of people getting value from their about.me page:

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 5.51.44 PM.png

2 out of every 3 visitors view his photo collection

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 5.56.13 PM.png

2 out of every 5 visitors watch her videos

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 6.00.04 PM.png

1 in 5 visitors read Tiffany’s fashion blog

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 6.02.06 PM.png

Raised $300 in donations to his charity

As our platform has quickly grown to millions and millions of users, we’re seriously excited about how this reimagined about.me results in a simple, beautiful, easy to use and easy to understand value for our users.

A special shout out to the design genius of Jeff Veen (@veen), our amazing development team who makes it happen and out outreach team who brings it to life for so many on the Web.

 

5 thoughts on “about.me/you

  1. Great work and awesome to see my profile look nice on multiple screens 🙂
    Now, I like that you link to social network profiles… but it looks like chat-based interfaces are the new hotness. Where do you see about.me help discover people on these chat services?

  2. I really wanted to like the update, but it was only *after* I completed it that I realized just how much data that was previously available was now missing for visitors… that previously was visible “below the fold”

    I appreciate the cleanliness of presentation and update to improve multi-screen responsiveness, but the loss of ability to “drill down” right on the about.me page is a bummer. The loss of analytics and other information is also unfortunate.

    I really liked that I could use about.me as an online version of a resume of sorts, without sending people to LinkedIn directly. I appreciated that I had a greater level of control over the presentation of my information on about.me, and that I could show multiple facets of who I am and what I do, which now is less visible than it was previously.

    If I only wanted to say one thing about myself, and advertise that “I can do THIS thing” then this redesign would be fine. But I don’t do just one thing, and I doubt a lot of other people do either, *especially* in this new gig-economy where people are constantly reinventing themselves.

    1. Thanks for the feedback. Our new Weekly Digest will have the stats you’re looking for. And, you can change your “Spotlight” whenever needed, which I think addresses your concern about only doing “one thing”?

  3. Thank you, Mr. Conrad, for an excellent site and a new version. I shall miss the old version and I plan to adapt to the new version. I trust you improved the “unity” of the social media serves, since that is what we need. Bravo.

Leave a Reply

